jump to navigation

Remembering my Mom May 13, 2012

Posted by paulstella in Uncategorized.
trackback

I recall Mom’s intense interest in all aspects of my life. Isn’t that so like a mother?

It’s nice having an opportunity to reflect on Mom this year. That may sound strange, but I’m pretty sure her memory got shortchanged last Mother’s Day. Instead, I recall much of it spent at my father’s bedside. Just a week removed from his heart surgery, my focus was squarely on hopes and prayers for any signs of recovery.

Mom passed on 11 years ago, the result of numerous ailments that chipped away at her vitality over the course of a decade. Despite the physical ravages endured during that period, her mind remained strong and her spirit seldom wavered.

I have frequently said that the day I lost my Mom was the day I lost the one person who was intensely interested in every aspect of my life. Yet I remember getting annoyed by her seemingly redundant line of questioning intended to expose any detail of my life that may have gone unreported. Of course, I miss that now—and suspect I always will.

As is likely the case with most mothers, she placed the needs of her family above her own. Yet her success as a provider seemed to fulfill her greatest need, building the foundation upon which our family prospered.

I regret that I cannot share this day with her in person, but I find it uplifting to pause, reflect and ultimately reconnect with her in spirit. Happy Mother’s Day, Mom!

Comments»

1. Jean Kase - May 13, 2012

Mrs. Stella was such a warm person, always with a twinkle in her eye and smile on her face. It was so clear how much she loved her family, and I am so glad to have been included in Stella family events over the years.

Kathy Lapp - May 13, 2012

Nice job Paul. You are a good Son, Father, Brother and Uncle.
Mom would be proud.

2. Maureen - May 13, 2012

Paul, I never met your Mom, but I am sure that she was a wonderful person because she raised such a wonderful son! I enjoyed reading your thoughts and feelings about your Mom!

3. smokey jr - May 14, 2012

YOUR MOTHER TRIED TO SAVE ME FROM MAKING A CHOICE, THAT I WILL REGRET FOR THE REST OF MY LIFE. WE HAD A SPECIAL CONNECTION – SHE WAS THE FIRST OF HER GENERATION, AS I WAS AND AM, OF MINE. SHE WAS SPECIAL TO ME AND YOU WERE SO LUCKY TO HAVE HER AS A MOTHER! SANDY

4. Frank Battaglia - May 15, 2012

Your mom’s razor-sharp mind never ceased to amaze me. She always remembered small details that I might have mentioned nonchalantly in a conversation and asked me about them in subsequent conversations. Most times those later conversations were several months apart and a few times they were well over a year apart. Actually, that’s not just a sharp mind – that’s caring. It’s a trait that all the Stellas are genetically blessed with.


Leave a Reply

