jump to navigation

I made my connection February 26, 2012

Posted by paulstella in Uncategorized.
trackback

Damned if they weren’t standing there waiting as I walked to baggage claim. Bryce and Brent Salmi, RIT students that my coworkers have commonly heard me refer to as simple “the twins,” came to greet me as I arrived in Los Angeles.

The opportunity to reconnect with the guys, though very briefly, was a pleasant surprise. Bound for a 2-week adventure in New Zealand, I posted my itinerary on Facebook, including a reference to a layover at LAX.

I met Bryce and Brent, electrical engineering majors, on their first day of RIT new student orientation in 2007. I put them on TV, and they’ve been a part of my life ever since. They are currently on break from their campus studies and living in California to take part in a co-op with SpaceX. It’s a remarkable achievement, beating out hundreds, if not thousands, of other American college students for the coveted work experience.

Bryce replied to my Facebook post on Saturday and indicated they live minutes from LAX. I “dared” him and Brent to come find me when I arrived.

Connecting with the twins in this way is so fitting. They make the most of every moment life throws at them, and it was awesome to hear about their California adventure, working in the field of space engineering and spending their weekends hiking the SoCal mountains. Of course, the part I love most is hearing them finish each others thoughts – that twin thing.

And now, as I head off to New Zealand, they inspire me to make the most of my adventure ahead. I honestly don’t remember ever being this excited.

20120225-211256.jpg

Hangin' with Brent (left) and Bryce Salmi at LAX prior to boarding my flight to Auckland

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

