jump to navigation

Give them an inch… February 21, 2010

Posted by paulstella in Uncategorized.
trackback

The following clearly disqualifies me from Father of the Year honors:

“It’s your night, kid, stay up as late as you want,” I told Austin before taking myself to bed last night. We had returned home after enjoying ourselves at the RIT hockey game, and he had plopped himself in the basement to play his PlayStation. Fine with me—I could stay upstairs and watch Susie Orman in peace.

Austin is understandably nervous about starting high school tomorrow, so I’m making every effort I can to keep him active this weekend, hoping to keep his mind off of it. I figure the PlayStation is my ally in that regard.

As I hugged him and said good night, he replied, “Don’t be surprised if I’m down here when you wake up.”

“Yeah, right,” I said dismissively.

Parents, do I even need to finish this story?

After rolling out of bed at around 8:30, I noticed—sure enough—Austin’s bedroom door was wide open. No worries, I thought. Grabbing an afghan, I headed down to the basement expecting to find him curled up on the couch. Nope, what I saw truly surprised me. He was still playing! I couldn’t believe my eyes.

“Are you kidding me? You start school in less 24 hours!”

“I’m not tired,” he said.

What did he think I would say next? “Oh, okay then, continue.” He actually pushed back a little when I demanded he go to bed. I’ll guarantee he’s sound asleep now as I’m writing this.

Yeah, I admit I’m still a little naive. But it does remind that the old saying holds true, “You give them an inch and they take a mile.” Whoever first coined the phrase must have had a teenager in mind.

Comments»

1. Becky - February 21, 2010

Welcome to parenthood! You’ll be fine though, that’s so minor in the big scheme of things…
Don’t you wish there were a book that would tell you what to do and what not to do? Sometimes you have to be the bad guy as much as you hate to. That sucks. But the rewards are truly amazing. Good luck to Austin on his 1st dayof school. We’ll be thinking of him. Hope to see you both soon!

2. Tom B - February 21, 2010

Ha yeah don’t worry it too much. It’s unnaturally common these days to pull all-nighters with video games, especially when given permission to do so! I’d say if its not a school night, go for it.
Good luck to him with school, tomorrow.

3. Pattie - February 24, 2010

Paul, you lived here with me when Leah was 16!!!! Don’t you remember the “attitude”? And the “look”? Remember the FROZEN PIE incident?

It will pass.

4. The ‘key’ to surviving a snow day « Stellavision - February 27, 2010

[…] for Austin. So many people have reached out to ask me, “How’s Austin doing? How’s school?” As I had described previously, the start of classes, which took place on Monday, had been the source of some anxiety. It wasn’t […]


Leave a Reply

