jump to navigation

Overcoming that shadow of doubt January 30, 2010

Posted by paulstella in Uncategorized.
trackback

Chill out! This adoption thing could take a while.

Yep, still waiting. As Austin said to me earlier this week, “I’m just moving ahead with life here until I hear it’s time.” Good call. I told him I’d reached a similar conclusion.

I wish he was here to start the second semester of high school, which gets underway on Monday—but whatever. If there’s anyone capable of jumping in midstream and making it work, it’s Austin. That’s been the story of his life. God only know what he’ll accomplish with just a touch of stability.

But this week, for the first time, I really started to wonder. “Am I doing the right thing? Am I crazy?”

I had specific reasons for asking these questions, and I hope you’ll forgive me for not being specific, but I suspect any parent might appreciate the sudden shadow of doubt that moved over me.

Thankfully, that doubt has passed, but earlier today I stumbled across some reassurance while scanning my computer bookmarks, and I thought it might be okay to share. Just over a year ago, Austin appeared in a TV news segment that regularly features children available for adoption. I’ve never actually seen the video, but this transcript of the story (link here) posted on the station’s Web site provided me with some eye-opening insights.

While seeing this in the midst of my search last fall, I was suddenly convinced I had found the right kid. Make a point of checking out the comments from viewers. His first-ever TV interview obviously made quite an impression on them, which still has me wondering why he wasn’t adopted sooner.

Four weeks have passed since Austin returned to Kentucky. I suppose that, after nearly a month, it’s not uncommon for the mind to start pondering the ‘what ifs.’ But thanks to many of you who continue to share your wisdom and support with me, I remain confident that I am doing the right thing—and that I’m not crazy.

Comments»

1. Ron - January 31, 2010

Paul,
Austin is a great kid! It will happen when it is mean to and he will be here soon enough!

2. Becky - February 5, 2010

Aunt Gina always tells Kyra and Meghan….Patience is a virtue!


Leave a Reply

