jump to navigation

Extended (photographic) exposures and lasting friendships September 29, 2009

Posted by paulstella in Uncategorized.
trackback

It was over in a flash—or a series of flashes to be perfectly accurate. The RIT Big Shot photography project featuring the Smithsonian’s National Museum of the American Indian took place this past weekend in Washington D.C.

Kelly and me on the Big Shot beat

Kelly and me on the Big Shot beat

I realize this is probably news to no one who knows me. As part of a personal new-media experiment, I spent a good portion of the weekend “tweeting” and updating Facebook in order to report on my journey. Forgive me, it was probably over the top. But, damn it, I’m just trying to stay relevant in this era of social networking! 🙂

My reasons for attending this year’s Big Shot were twofold. First, I wanted to be on hand to help celebrate the 25th in a series of RIT photographic extravaganzas (which really does describe the Big Shot experience in a nut shell). But most importantly, I wanted to be on site to help secure media exposure for the event.

I played a supporting role in the media planning. My co-worker Kelly Downs had been on the ground floor of preparations for the event since they got underway last year. Kelly and I have been responsible for Big Shot publicity throughout this decade—beginning in 2000 with my first experience at the Liberty Pole shoot in downtown Rochester. But this one was really Kelly’s baby, and she did an awesome job. Coverage included two articles in the Washington Post—one that offered an extensive preview of the event and another that provided a follow up on its success. Also, the CBS affiliate in Washington, D.C., WUSA-TV (Channel 9), produced a really nice feature story.

Ron, Jon and Megan prior to our early morning departure for D.C.

Ron, Jon and Megan prior to our early morning departure for D.C.

One of the things that made this year’s Big Shot so special for me was the opportunity to work alongside Kelly, who is both a valued colleague and a cherished friend. Both of us came to RIT from the hectic world of local TV news, so we share a similar work ethic and a warped sense of humor. It’s an unbeatable combination!

In addition, I spent a lot of time with members of RIT’s Office of Alumni Relations, who were kind enough to let me hitch a ride with them to the event. Jon Rodibaugh, Ron Goldberg and Megan Cheever were charged with organizing a reception at the museum for nearly 500 members of the campus community, and they pulled it off flawlessly (as far as anyone attending could tell). Together, we survived more than six hours of travel each way, and found more than a few things to laugh about in transit.

Coordinators Michael and Bill upon their Big Shot perch

Coordinators Michael and Bill upon their Big Shot perch

And finally, a special salute to the faculty coordinators of Big Shot. I’ve really enjoyed the opportunity over the years to bond with Bill DuBois, Dawn Tower DuBois and Michael Peres, particularly during the crazy antics that took place at the Alamo Big Shot in 2001.  Kelly has built a similar bond with the trio since assuming the media reigns in 2004. They are so passionate about sustaining and enhancing this RIT tradition, and they are always generous in their praise of Kelly and me for our ongoing support. It’s really an honor that they count us among the members of the Big Shot crew.

So while I greatly appreciate my participation in this experience year after year, I’d say it’s the relationships I’ve developed and enhanced along the way that remain the most illuminating aspect of Big Shot.

RIT's 25th Big Shot, featuring the Smithsonian's National Museum of the American Indian in Washington, D.C.

RIT's 25th Big Shot, featuring the Smithsonian's National Museum of the American Indian in Washington, D.C.

Comments»

1. Rachel - September 30, 2009

Great blog entry, as always! I enjoyed all your tweets and photos from the trip!

2. real estate mutual funds - October 6, 2009

Hey very nice blog!!….I’m an instant fan, I have bookmarked you and I’ll be checking back on a regular….See ya 🙂

3. Savannah - October 17, 2009

Awesome blog!

I thought about starting my own blog too but I’m just too lazy so, I guess Ill just have to keep checking yours out.
LOL,


Leave a Reply

