jump to navigation

Iran: Are we really paying attention? June 24, 2009

Posted by paulstella in Uncategorized.
trackback

Later this year, it will be 20 years since the fall of the Berlin Wall and a country and its people were unified. 20 years! Note to self: You’re getting old.

As I reflect on that historic occasion, I find myself wondering how much I was really paying attention back then. I was working as a TV news producer at the time, so I had to be somewhat plugged in. But I was also 25. Which bar would my coworkers and I be heading to after the 11 o’clock news was probably a bigger concern.

Now, nearly 20 years later, I find myself watching with some level of awe at what’s transpiring in Iran—a struggle between what’s always been and what could be. Is it possible that a new generation of Iranian will beat the odds at take control of their nation’s destiny? What amazing human drama! But are we really paying attention?

I did not witness the advance of Communism on Eastern Europe. I simply wasn’t alive yet. But as a boy, I remember watching the aftermath of the Islamic Revolution in Iran and the taking of American hostages, so I guess I have more perspective this time around. To me, there’s a real sense of history in the making. I likely lacked that sense 20 years ago.

We don’t know how this story will play out, and very little may change when it’s all said and done. But I doubt it. I just hope America and Americans continue to lend whatever support is necessary to bolster the prospects of a brave new generation of Iranians. Technology and access to a wide array of media makes it so much easier today to stay connected and share our concern.

And I really urge my younger friends to take notice. Don’t miss out like I did.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

